Thursday January 18, 2018 Distressed

I am your brother, Joseph, the one you sold into slavery into Egypt!  Do not be distressed and do not be angry with yourselves for selling me here, because it was to save lives that God sent me ahead of you…. So then, it was not you who sent me here, but God.  Genesis 45:4-5, 8

There was a lot of rivalry and jealousy in the bible.  The tale of Joseph and his brothers was amazing in its twists and turns.  Saul was going to kill David because he was jealous…. Talk about a power struggle.

Joseph was not out for vengeance, he completely forgave his brothers when he looked back and understood their jealousy had a purpose.  This helps me to cope when I am distressed and going through a hard time to be calm and say to God… I know You can use this for good.  WHAT do you want me to learn here?  How can I grow through this to serve YOU better?

No one wants to be in crisis.  Poor Joseph was sold into slavery, imprisoned unjustly by his boss’s wife, all to eventually become the second in command to Pharaoh.  This was indeed the circuitous route, but GOD had a plan, but it took YEARS to come to fruition.  Every time Joseph seemed to get ahead, he was cast down once more.  Patience and trust are certainly not my long suite.  I want to know NOW what God has in store.  When I can reflect on Joseph’s life, I know that the stresses that I suffer will never be bigger than God.  As sure as I am sitting her writing this I KNOW that all that God has allowed into my life has served a purpose.

Lord, I know the plans that You have me are for good.  I do trust You to lead me where YOU want me to go.  Today the path is not well illuminated but I trust You and will follow Your will.  Thank You for loving me enough to be by my side when I am distressed.   

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a comment