Saturday August 12, 2017 Remember

You may say to yourself, “My power and the strength of my hands have produced this wealth for me.” But remember the Lord, your God, for it is He who gives you the ability to produce wealth, and so confirms His covenant, which He swore to our ancestors, as it is today.  Deuteronomy 8:17-18

Gratitude is the most important emotion we have in our toolbox.  You might think that it is love but you can feel other emotions when you are loving someone.  But gratitude is all encompassing.  It completely takes over when I am feeling grateful.  It is impossible to feel angry, to feel jealous or to feel sad.  God reminds often in Scripture that Pride, Selfishness and Greed are deadly sins to be avoided.  It can be done only be living a grateful life.

Each one of God’s children are given gifts to be used for His glory.  Discovering those special talents can be a worthy pursuit.  (I call them my Super Powers) It is crucial to remember every day that these are gifts however and to never forget where they come from.  If I use them for God’s glory and the fulfillment of His plan for my life, I am living my covenant with Him.  How often I stumble and fall when I turn my focus inward instead of trusting in His guidance.  God is the power and the glory behind every good gift.

Have you ever forgotten that God is the provider of these gifts?  It is easy to become full of ourselves and bask in the moment of victory and accomplishment.  When this happens, I hope you will REMEMBER who is the giver in our relationships with God.  Moses told the Israelites to write it on their foreheads, bind it to their wrists, hang it from their doorposts, drill it into their children BUT never forget who God is…  The Lord alone, the Provider of every good gift!

Father forgive me when I am proud, help me to turn my eyes to heaven and thank YOU for every good gift.  Help me to speak against the sense of entitlement that permeates the air we breathe today.  I want to remember in humility that I can do nothing without Your grace. 

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

