Thursday August 10, 2017 Treasure

For where your treasure is, there will your heart be also.  Matthew 6:21

Today is my mom’s birthday.  I am sure she is celebrating in heaven the fact that she was born August 10, 1929.  Mom liked to have parties.  She considered her friends, her children and grandkids her treasures.  Her big smiles would be seen when she was surrounded by those she loved.  So, she smiled a lot because with nine of us, someone was always around.  She delighted in telling stories and recalling fond memories.

Mom taught me many lessons but her greatest for me was that “where your treasure is, that is where your heart is”.  My mother was a devout Catholic.  A convert to the faith who embraced it fervently.  Her love of God was her biggest treasure.  Her life was not easy, a widow with five children at the age of 32.  She worked as a nurse and kept us together through sheer will, prayer and devotion to Mary.  She prayed her rosary every night and had a picture of Our Lady of Perpetual Help prominently positioned in our home.  Mom was blessed and favored by God.  She would share with me her fears, “We only have $15 to last to payday, ten days away” or “The water heater broke and I can’t afford to fix it” after she had prayed.  The next thing we knew, a check would arrive a bill she paid twice or a refund she had not known she was due.  Highly Favored indeed because she knew her God and He knew her every need.

Mom met and married a wonderful man.  Our family exploded to nine with the addition of two step-sisters and two half-brothers, TWINS who came along ten months after they were married.  Yours, Mine and Ours in very real life.  Mom graciously embraced her increased treasure.  She beamed with pride and always managed to stretch meals to welcome our friends.  Sometimes, just a regular weeknight dinner could be 15 or 20 people.  More water in the soup or another pan of cornbread would be whipped up.  Poor dad, would scratch his head and wonder where it would end.  We are now at 57 of their progeny and still counting.  Treasure abounds when love is here.

Lord, help me always recognize what my mother always knew, That You are my biggest and best treasure.  You have shared with me a large and loving family, gifted me with many friends and I am grateful for every moment of my life… the good and the bad, the easy and the hard!  Thank You for every moment of my mother’s life and for the lessons she taught.  Party with her today and please let her know I love her!    

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

