Wednesday August 9, 2017 Powerful

The word of God is alive and powerful.  It is sharper than the sharpest two edge sword, cutting between soul and spirit, between joint and marrow.  It exposes our innermost thoughts and desires.  Hebrews 4:12

Words can move people to take devastating action.  One word destroyed the twin towers, Hiroshima and Nagasaki, and any incited people to commit any number of tragedies.  Words can also make us feel whole… “I am proud of you!”  “You did a good job!”  The words Jesus spoke created a new way of living for millions.  His words prompted men and women in Christian LOVE and devotion to e martyred rather than succumb to evil because they believed what He had to say.

I have heard powerful speakers who lit a fire in me to change.  I have read books that inspired change my life but no one has had the impact that God’s word, Holy Scripture, has had on me.  As I think back on my life, I know that at each difficult spot, Scripture helped me to rise above my circumstances and turn away from depression, anger, resentment and fear.  That is POWER!

God’s word lights up my life so I can see where I need to make changes.  Sin easily creeps in and without the light to help me separate the wheat from the chaff, I can be fooled and lost forever.  Having scripture to steer me has been the key to my discernment and direction.  I have been blessed and humbled to see the good and the bad for what they are and inspired to make the necessary changes in my behavior.   Being far from perfect and so easily distracted from my purpose, I need daily reminders that God is with me to guide and inspire.

Lord You have given me the Way and the Truth in Your Holy Word.  I am so grateful for the bible and hope to never let my love for Your message to Your people wane.  Keep it ever burning in my heart, on my lips and in my mind.  

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

