Wednesday August 2, 2017 Truth

If someone who has material possessions sees a brother or sister in need but has no pity on them, how can the love of God be in that person?  Dear Children, let us not love with word or speech but with actions and truth. 1 John 3:17-18

I like to think I have the love of God in me but there have been many times when I have passed a panhandler that I did not give the cash in my wallet or stop to write a check to a friend who is at a low point in their financial situation.  No one knows better than I what it means to do this… John described what love is.. Jesus Christ laid down His life for us.  1 John 3:16

Jesus came to show me how to LOVE and live in truth.  When I don’t give my time and resources is it because I don’t love the other person enough or is it because I am afraid that I will run out of resources myself?  A lack of trust in God’s provision for me can’t stop me from loving my neighbor as myself or I will surely perish.  God has created me for love and when I hold back for any reason, I am not living as the person He created me to be.

When I look beyond my everyday turmoil and truly examine my life, I know that God has provided for me.  When I share what I have and bless others, I am indeed growing into the person God has called me to be.

The truth is sometimes hard to admit, I can be selfish or self-centered.  That is NOT who I want to be but knowing the truth has opened my eyes and the truth will set me free.  When I can see clearly, I can make the choice to be who God created me to be.

Thank You Lord for showing me the way to live.  By demonstrating even in Your dying breath how to Love, forgive and lead others to heaven.  I seek to live Your truth.  Help me today and always to LOVE with actions and in truth! 

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

