Thursday July 27, 2017 Loyalty

Never let loyalty and kindness leave you!  Tie them around your neck as a reminder.  Write them deep within your heart.  Then you will find favor with both God and people, and you will earn a good reputation.  Proverbs 3:3-4

When I think of loyalty, many interesting images appear.  From my childhood, my brothers and sisters were often reminded by my mom… you can fight amongst yourselves at home but out in the world you must always defend and be loyal to one another.  And it was so!  We teased one another mercilessly but if anyone else said a harsh word, we all defended the family honor and the one that was teased an hour before was protected and stood up for against a neighbor kid who crossed the line.

It is not so easy as adults to be loyal.  At work, in politics, even among friends, loyalty often proves to be as fleeting as a cloud.  How often, I have witnessed a co-worker spew gossip about someone who they embraced not two minutes before.  It makes trust impossible when this behavior is rampant among so many.  I wish often that I could tie loyalty and kindness around someone’s neck and bless them with this grace so that their reputation would be changed and finally allow them to have and become a true friend.  Trust is hard to earn and so easy to lose.

With so many choices for everything from where to shop to who to vote for, loyalty is harder and harder to find today.  When I study the habits of people throughout history right up to this moment, I see that nothing can force loyalty.  The Israelites were shown the power and love of God by His rescue from Egypt, the manna and quail they were fed, the water that poured from rocks in the midst of a desert but they so easily turned to worship a molten calf.  Judas turned from Jesus for thirty pieces of silver.

Each of us has witnessed someone or been disloyal ourselves.  It is never easy to be faithful but God promises favor if we earn His trust by maintaining a reputation for loyalty and kindness.

Lord give me the grace and discernment so I can be loyal to You always.  Help me to always be kind and welcoming to those I meet each day.  Reveal in me a clean heart that reflects You to everyone. 

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

