Monday July 24, 2017 What do you want?

Turning around, Jesus saw them following and asked, “What do you want?”  John 1:38

I have been asking this question of myself and others for my whole life.  One of the top things on my list has always been to spend time with those I love.  I have moved often in my life and that distancing from family and friends has always left me forlorn and depressed sometimes for months after a separation.  The older I get the harder it becomes to say goodbye or even so long for a while.  I have learned to make a date before I depart for the next time I will see my loved ones to give me something to cling to make the separation easier.

Every person needs to ask themselves this question that Jesus poses.  “What do I really want?” is as profound or as simple as I want to make it!  It can be asked at a restaurant as I gaze at the menu or at a car dealership as I try to choose the vehicle that I will drive for the next five or ten years or at as I decide a job that I will have for the foreseeable future…  When I mentor a person, I ask them to answer this question about their career path or college courses but I always follow up with WHY? Four or five times!!!  After soul searching and formalizing an answer, often the light will come on that illuminates the darkness that has prevented someone from seeing the right path to take.

Life continues to be a series of choices.  Jesus was being followed and He asked his disciples to be clear about their expectations.  If I am to be a true follower of Christ, I need to be able to answer this question, clearly and then take action accordingly.  For I have learned that not making a decision is making one as well.  I am just giving my power to someone else or to chance.  Never a fulfilling or satisfactory option.  Jesus asks me to be a committed follower, never wishy washy or lukewarm.  He invites me to ask and answer each day WHAT DO YOU WANT?  He tells me throughout scripture to choose life, to choose him but He never forces my hand.

I have set before you, life and death, the blessing and the curse.  Choose life, then.  Deuteronomy 30:19

Before man are life and death, whichever he chooses shall be given him.  Sirach 15:17

Lord, thank you for my family and friends.  Help me to choose always to serve You and those I love faithfully.  Help me to identify WHAT I want and say yes to it as long as it is in Your will, You will bless me.  I choose LIFE! 

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

