Monday July 17, 2017 Weakness

“My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” 2 Corinthians 12:9

St Paul reminds me daily that Jesus can take my mistakes and shortcomings and make something good of me.  I know that I am weak and often fail but God can and does turn things around if I just let Him direct me.  How often I stumble and hit the bottom hard.  When I struggle to get up, I ask Him for help to do better and He never fails me.  The problem is, I forget to ask for help.  I am stubborn and think too often that I can do it all myself.  I want to be strong, I want to stand on my own two feet and not need anyone or anything… but that is NOT reality, but sinful pride.

God knows me, He knows human nature and understands weakness even though He was not weak.  He reaches out His hand to me when I am down.  Often it is through another who has experienced the same troubles.  That is why divorce support groups, AA or Widow care groups work.  The knowledge and the experience of one person can benefit others who are ready to listen.  Survival happens one moment at a time.  Pain can be overwhelming and prevent someone from making sound decisions, but two strands are tougher to break.  Add a third, someone who is praying and success is guaranteed.

It all starts with honesty and a desire to overcome.  I cannot break the chain of weakness and failure unless I admit I am fallen.  I can deceive myself with false bravado, I am FINE!  The ugliest four-letter word in the English Language.  It hides truth from myself and others.  In weakness God can begin His work of perfecting.

Lord, help me to admit my weakness and seek You to make me whole.  I know You stand ready with an army of helpers to make me better.  All I need to do is ask for Your assistance.  Thank You for loving me. 

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

