Saturday July 15, 2017 Prepared

So that your trust may be in the Lord, I have taught you today, even you.  Proverbs 22:19

There have been many times that I looked at a circumstance in my life and wondered how I could ever handle it.  I prayed and asked for help and God seemed to whisper, I have prepared you for this and you can handle it.  Like David who volunteered to fight the Philistine, Goliath, said to Saul.  “I fought the lion and the bear to defend the sheep… this mountain of a man is no different, I am ready!” 1 Samuel 17:37  Because David had worked as a shepherd, he was now ready to be a soldier.

It is easy to doubt my own abilities when something mountainous looms ahead.  FEAR of failure, harm or simply of the unknown always looms large and makes me back away from opportunities.  No one ever said life would be easy.  The important thing for me is to break down the challenge into parts and tackle them piece by piece.  When I do that, I can compare my past experiences and successes to whatever I am now challenged to do.  When my brother in law was teaching me to drive, I was scared and overwhelmed with all that I had to do.  He demanded I maintain the speed and I thought I would never be able to do it.  I had taught myself to sew and the foot pedal that regulated the speed of my sewing machine which I had managed, allowed me to dig deeper and have the confidence to drive 35 without speeding up or dropping too low.  Parallel parking was another matter.

One of my favorite adages is, “When God brings you to it, He will bring you through it!” This has helped me so often to depend on Him for strength and guidance in trying situations.  I know He has prepared me and will bring good out of each moment.  David killed Goliath and went on to be the greatest King in Jewish history.  God prepared that shepherd to lead a people.

Lord, I trust YOU to make my path straight and help me to reach my destiny.  I know that each stressful act that I undertake will provide a building block so I can get closer to You.  When I feel uncertain, You are my rock.  Thank You for loving me through the hard times. 

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

