Friday July 14, 2017 Kat

Moses said to the Lord, “You have been telling me, ‘Lead these people,’ but You have not let me know whom you will send with me.  You have said, ‘I know you by name and you have found favor with me.’  If You are pleased with me, teach me Your ways so I may know You and continue to find favor with You.” Exodus 33:12-13

Today is the feast day of Saint Kateri Tekawitha.  My daughter Denise chose her as her Confirmation model and accepted her name when she was confirmed.  That summer, Denise, worked as a camp counselor and she had her tribe call her “Kat”.  When I read this scripture today, I was reminded of her struggles to lead for the first time. Kateri and Moses fought the systems that would have allowed them to blend in and they found leadership a burden as well.  God delivered help and guidance as He does for all who seek Him.

Learning at the feet of Jesus how to lead means becoming a servant.  Moses would go to the tent of meeting and speak with God, Face to Face.  He learned how to lead the most stiff-necked and stubborn people on the planet.  In spite of their constant disobedience, Moses was finally able to get them to the promised land.

Kateri refused to follow the ways of the Mohawk in marriage, and was able to join a convent and serve the Lord in virginity.  She devoted her life to prayer and serving others.  It was so appropriate for Denise to have chosen Kateri and then work outside at a camp for a summer.  God has a way of working these things out.

Lord, I know that You have smiled down on many of Your servants who have defied the norm and have led others to You because of their fearless ways.  Give me strength to embrace Your path for my life.  Whether it is through a desert, a forest or the city… I know You are with me, leading me home to You! 

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

