Tuesday July 11, 2017 Rock

“Everyone who hears these words of Mine and acts on them, may be compared to a wise man who built his house on the rock. And the rain fell, and the floods came, and the winds blew and slammed against that house; and yet it did not fall, for it had been founded on the rock.”  Matthew 7:24-25

In life the rains come and the winds blow slamming even the most sturdy and causing damage.  But when the house is built on a strong foundation, the structure stays put.  When you watch video of a hurricane ripping through and destroying mobile home parks or tearing down piers and trees, you see what Jesus is talking about.  Only deep foundations can withstand.  Rock does not succumb to the wind and the rain.

I know the rock in my life, now.  I once thought that things, or people or jobs, or education would help me weather the storms of life.  God is the one who is always there in good times and in bad.  Finding my way to stand up after being buffeted by the storms of divorce, job loss, bankruptcy and illness, the ROCK has remained my God.  I have been blessed to share my faith with my husband, good and holy friends who have walked beside me and reminded me that I am never alone but my God is my rock.

Today is the feast day of St Benedict who helped to create the Rule of Monasticism.  He made a part of the RULE to pray Psalm 95 each day.  These verses remind me that the Rock is my God always!  Psalm 95:3-4

For the Lord is a great God
And a great King above all gods,
In whose hand are the depths of the earth,
The peaks of the mountains are His also.

Today Lord, I am so grateful that You are my rock.  Help me to stay rooted in Your grace and never lose my hope that when I cling to You, I will be saved. 

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

