Friday July 7, 2017 Garbage

I consider everything a loss because of the surpassing worth of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord, for whose sake I have lost all things.  I consider them garbage, that I may gain Christ.  Philippians 3:8

Paul was a righteous and respected Jew.  He followed the ancient Law to the letter and had been chosen worthy because of his work, persecuting the followers of Jesus.  To write these words to the church at Philippi was a phenomenal change in perspective.  He basically was saying his life had been useless until he was born again in Christ.  It had to be hard for a proud man to admit that all his accomplishments were a pile of garbage.

Often, God gives us moments to re-evaluate and appraise our lives.  When someone we love dies, examining their contributions and recalling their deeds both good and bad forces us to assess our own.  Would it be viewed as a pile of garbage or weighed positively?  Would Paul call my accomplishments a pile of trash?  I think that Paul would look at new cars, new clothes and Jimmy Choos as garbage for sure.  He would only measure the lives that we touch and the witness that I have given as worthy of measurement.

Paul suffered beatings and imprisonment for His love of Christ Jesus.  For me it is only necessary that I pray, do works of mercy, stand up for those who are being discriminated against and treat everyone as Jesus would.  A far cry from being lashed or starved, shipwrecked or stoned.  What garbage can I walk away from so my life could be more focused on eternity?   Distractions create a loss of integrity if they become my reason for being.

Lord, Help me to keep my eyes on You, my mind out of the gutter and away from the “garbage” that so easily steals my attention.  Help me always remember that You are my reason for being!  Give me the strength to choose the high road no matter the ridicule I may face. 

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

