Friday June 30, 2017 Clean

Create in me a clean heart, O God, and put a steadfast spirit within me.  Do not cast me away from Your presence and nor deprive me of Your Holy Spirit.  Psalm 51:10-11

Over the past few days, my house has been turned upside down.  We got a new bed on Monday, Gary’s closet rod and shelf collapsed and we sold the twin beds that have been in the same spot since we moved in revealing some blistering paint and lots of dust and dirt!  I discovered in the course of a few days how dirty and unstable my house really is.  When you move stuff around, what is lying behind, under and out of reach is revealed.

David passionately wrote to God in his Psalms about every detail of life.  Today these words spoke to me about what is going on inside my soul just like what is going in in my house.  What am I going to discover if I move some of my opinions and comfortable beliefs?  Is my soul collecting dust and junk with the complacency of my day to day?  Is there a need to clean up my heart so God does not cast me away from His presence?  We have eliminated lots of clothes that don’t fit anymore since the closet collapsed.  What outdated ideas am I hanging onto that are preventing the Holy Spirit from living fully in me?  If the partitions fall in my heart. Will I find a wall that is disintegrating with the seepage of bad habits eroding my character?

I always believe that things happen for a reason…  God allows the good and the bad to teach and open my mind to new ways to love Him and my brothers and sisters.  Our “Pooh Room” has gone to the home of a 5 and 7-year-old who are loving their NEW!  GOD makes all things NEW!  I just need to cooperate or I may find He encourages me to CLEAN up my act with falling closets!

Lord please create in me a clean heart and open my eyes to Your ways.  Help my spirit to be steadfast and committed to do YOUR will.  Let me clean out old ways of thinking and staid approaches to Your love. You are always NEW! 

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

