Monday June 26, 2017 A Day

Behold our shield, O God, and look upon the face of Your anointed.   For a day in Your courts is better than a thousand outside. I would rather stand at the threshold of the house of my God than dwell in the tents of wickedness.  Psalm 8:9-10

Too often in planning out my life, I forget the importance of a single day.  Not just the BIG days, like weddings, graduations and birth days of children and grandchildren but simple days like learning to ride a bike, baking my first batch of cookies or learning to knit.  Those simple days of walking through a forest and being greeted with a valley of wildflowers or seeing a deer and her fawn up close and personal.  The first time I sat in a concert hall and heard the orchestra music that swept over my soul.

Those are the days in God’s court when His glory sets the scene for a lifetime of joy.  God allows me to glimpse what brings joy and fulfillment in my life and then invites me to frequently experience these special moments.  I love to cook, to sew, to ride a bike, listen to music and find peace when I knit, crewel or cross stitch.  Simple pleasures give me a graced life that inspires joy that lifts me up and transcends the world.

God wants me to be with Him forever to bask in the joys of His giftedness.  I can even be on the porch and experience His joy!  How gracious is my God?   Unfathomable are the joys of a DAY in His presence!

Lord, I am grateful for the simple days and look forward to an eternity with You.  Days that never end that abound with the simple that surpasses all understanding.  How great is Your love for me!  Turning the mundane into ecstasy and opening my eyes to the sublime. 

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

