Friday June 23, 2017 Sacred Heart

In this is love: not that we have loved God, but that He loved us and sent His Son as expiation for our sins.  1 John 4:10

Today is the Solemnity of the Sacred Heart of Jesus so the readings on love abound.  Only a SACRED heart could love so deeply and completely.  I cannot even imagine the love that it would take to send my own child to die to save the human race.  Abraham was ready to sacrifice His only son but was saved from the everlasting grief that he would have surely born.  Only God actually endured the grim knowledge of what Jesus would endure at the hands of His persecutors.  He knew that Jesus would not remain “dead” but how did the Trinity endure the pain of anticipation and then the actual endurance of Calvary and all the suffering that led up to it???

The daily acts of love that are offered by wives, husbands, children and parents, friends and complete strangers are constant lessons in humility.  Putting ourselves in a vulnerable place, an act of conversion from the ego to being other focused.  When we choose to prioritize other people’s needs over our own is when we put of Christ.  It will NEVER be easy.  Jesus’ Sacred Heart is depicted as wounded, mortally.  Being emptied for others is what Jesus did and invites His followers to do this as well.  Jesus says turn the other cheek, when they strike you; when they ask for your tunic, give them your coat as well.  Loving means being Empty!  Drained! Poured OUT! for someone else.

God has shown me what LOVE looks like!  Not that I can ever hope to be as loving as Jesus was to have lain down His life for me.  But I have a role model, an example to follow.  Today is my opportunity to love deeply and embrace what God calls me to be.  United with His Son, I can master my longings and serve those who He has placed in my life.

Lord, give me strength to love with all my heart.  Help me to be grace filled and kind to those You have asked me to love. Through Your Sacred Heart, I will be more than I could ever be alone.   

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

