Monday June 9, 2017 Acceptable

For He says, “At the acceptable time I listened to you, and on the day of salvation I helped you.” Behold, now is “the acceptable time,” behold, now is “the day of salvation” 2 Corinthians 6:2

Looking around the world at all the murders, massacres and violence, the word acceptable does not ring true to me.  I struggled with Jesus’ words to His followers but were things that different when He uttered them two thousand years ago?  There were riots, civil disobedience, murders and theft.  There was greed and ego, selfishness and adultery.  Jesus listened then and He is still listening today.

If I want to have a closer walk with God, there is nothing for it but to commend myself as Paul did to live out loud for God  “in much endurance, in afflictions, in hardships, in distresses, in beatings, in imprisonments, in tumults, in labors, in sleeplessness, in hunger, in purity, in knowledge, in patience, in kindness, in the Holy Spirit, in genuine love” 2 Cor 6:-4-6

St Paul certainly did not have an easy time of it.  No one who puts on the mantle of Christ does.  Jesus told His followers if you work to save your life, you will lose it.  I know, if I am in the world, there will be hardships.  But God says this is the “ACCEPTABLE” time so I must look at what is happening around me and accept that God knows and will sort it out in His own time.  It is only for me to realize that He is in charge and to do my best to trust that His will provides salvation.  As much as I hate terrorism, prejudice, hunger, homelessness and all the ills of this present time and space… I must believe that God can and does reign.

Lord, I know You are listening, You hear my troubled prayers for help and consolation.  I trust in You to make this the acceptable time. 

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

