Saturday June 17, 2017 Lion

And one of the elders said to me, “Weep no more; behold, the Lion of the tribe of Judah, the root of David, has conquered, so that He can open the scroll and its seven seals.” Revelation 5:5

We have a new soccer team here, Orlando City Lions.  The soccer craze has taken the city by storm.  It is exciting to go to the games and cheer and sing the fight song.  I have been to many sporting events throughout my life where a similar level of enthusiasm was present.  When I read this verse today it made me wonder if faith would inspire the same fanaticism what would our world be like!  I know there are some people who possess this level of commitment… Jehovah’s Witnesses go door to door to educate and invite; I have met a few other individuals who are as demonstrative about what they believe but it is a rare occurrence.

I have seen children who are dedicated and deliberate at their Confirmation Retreat or at a National Catholic Youth Conference but who upon returning from college no longer even attend mass.  Peer pressure convinces them that it is not “Cool” to be on fire for Christ.  There are a few instances where this is not the case and I am hopeful for the rest that when their families come, they will re-engage.  I pray that it works that way.

Whatever enthusiasm, joy and dedication that I feel for my teams: The St Louis Cardinals, The Orlando City Lions, The Pride is minuscule compared to the love and joy I feel for my God.  I know that He does not need me to be a Raving Fan for His gratification but those around me may need to have me witness to them my commitment!   Fans create an extra player for the team and help to take their play to a higher level.  When I lived in MN the NOISE in the dome would intimidate the other team and make calling audible plays almost impossible.  Home field advantage indeed.

Lord, give me the strength to be Your biggest fan.  Make me a lion and give me the confidence to roar for You so that others will be drawn to Your power and glory. 

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

