Friday June 16, 2017 Handiwork

For it is by grace that you have been saved, through faith- and this is not from yourselves, it is the gift of God- not by works, so that no one can boast.  For we are God’s handiwork, created in Christ Jesus to do good works, which God prepares in advance for us to do.  Ephesians 2:8-10

It has always been a huge relief to me that God sent Jesus to save me and that I did not have to earn heaven myself.  What could I possibly do that would open the gates of heaven?  I look at the great saints, Mother Theresa, St Paul, St Peter, St Francis who performed miracles and I feel so inadequate.  I am so hopeful when I read these verses that God just wants me to do which He has prepared for me in advance!!!  That seems attainable.  That seems possible if I just open my eyes and seek out the best life each day when choices present themselves.

I love the old joke, “How do you eat an elephant?  One bite at a time”.  If I don’t think of my goal to be a saint in terms of a single huge accomplishment but in doing the good works daily that God has prepared for me, it seems possible.  When I realize how extraordinary free will is because it allows me the opportunity to change today and that will have eternal ramifications.  God forgives my past and is waiting for me to accomplish the good works that He has prepared in advance for me to accomplish.  It is a choice I can make each moment.

I read somewhere that one bad food choice will not kill me, it is opting for the SuperSize fries and shake with that burger every day that puts me on a path to obesity and heart conditions.  God invites me to make heavenly choices my go-to and He will be standing along the sidelines cheering me on!

Lord, I am so grateful for the grace that You shower on me.  The gift of faith has set me free to love You and do good works not to earn heaven but to fulfill my destiny. I am Your handiwork

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

