Monday June 12, 2017 ONE

For even as the body is one and yet has many members, and all the members of the body, though they are many, are one body, so also is Christ.  For by one Spirit we were all baptized into one body, whether Jews or Greeks, whether slaves or free, and we were all made to drink of one Spirit.  For the body is not one member, but many. 1 Corinthians 12:12-14

One year ago, today, Orlando was rocked by the worst massacre ever to be experienced by a single perpetrator on US soil.  ONE man changed the lives of hundreds when he killed 49 and wounded 53 individuals.  The community united a we each felt the incredible impact because we really are one body and what affects one, affects all.  When I have a toothache, I feel it throughout my body, just so our city was in pain.  People donated blood, money, water and food for the police and those who served at crisis support.   So many wanted to help that people had to be turned away.

What would our world look like if this kind of generosity and unity was always in force?  Too often when someone donates to a homeless person they want to control what the recipient will do with the money…  I have learned a hard truth, that helping someone and expecting something in return is business NOT showing God’s love.  All I can do is pray that my compassionate gift does the Lord’s work when it leaves my hands.  It is not for me to be the judge.

We are all parts of ONE body.  When I forget that I may get judgmental or worse resentful.  I look at the tragic situations of this world and am taught that no one but God can deliver us from evil.  There will always be ONE who is unhappy or sick, troubled and confused enough to wreak havoc.

Lord help those who are suffering today because of the actions of ONE person.  Help me always remember that I am part of this ONE body and be a resource for any who need a shoulder to cry on, an ear to be heard or a hand up after falling for when I offer these things, I am your BODY. 

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

