Tuesday June 6, 2017 Turn

Turn my heart toward Your statutes and not toward selfish gain.  Turn my eyes away from worthless things; preserve my life according to Your word.  Psalm 119:36-37

These verses are from the longest chapter of the bible.  Each section starts with a successive letter of the alphabet, an acrostic poem.  The focus is the law and it usefulness and value to our lives.  Eight times he mentions meditating on God’s words.  When I started the habit of reading scripture each day, I had no idea it would lead to writing this reflection.  It really just began as a word of encouragement after a retreat and as grown to an almost daily habit.  I still read and pray even when I do not have time to write.  My fifteen minutes has grown to thirty and some days even more.  God provides in these blessed early moments a chance for me to turn my heart toward Him.

They say you become the five people that you spend the most time with and the books that you read.  That is all encouragement I need to continue to read scripture each day.  It is my constant prayer to embrace scripture and allow it to become a part of me.  Turning myself into someone God would like to claim is a huge part of becoming a Christian.  The secret ingredient is never perfection because it cannot be attained here but persistence toward the goal.  If I miss a day, I know that He is always ready when I turn back to Him.  God’s Word moves me and makes me whole.  When the world breaks me down…  God speaks into my heart and my soul making me whole again.  I know that You are standing beside me when I immerse myself in Your Word!

Lord, I hunger for You and know that I can be sated when I read Your love letter to the human race.  Help me to turn to You always. 

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

