Friday June 2, 2017 Worthy

Now Jesus started on His way with them; and when He was not far from the house, the centurion sent friends, saying to Him, “Lord, do not trouble Yourself further, for I am not worthy for You to come under my roof.”  Luke 7:6

The centurion was a powerful man in Jesus day but he knew that as a Gentile and a sinful person, he could not ask Jesus to enter.  The Jews had many rules about cleanliness and remaining “ritually” pure so that they could enter the synagogue.  This centurion knew that he was asking too much of the Lord.  Jesus came to save all men and so He came and cured the servant of even this unclean Gentile.  An amazing departure from the mores of the time.

At every Mass, I repeat the words that this powerful man uttered.  His humility lives on for two thousand years.  Understanding the astounding presence of God in the Eucharist can never to minimized.  How humbled I am to stand at the altar and receive Jesus, present in the Body and Blood, the bread and wine transformed by His power and grace!  I know that I, like the centurion, is totally unworthy to receive Him into my body, my earthly home.

Jesus was amazed by this Gentile.  When He dealt daily with the Pharisees and the Sadducees, who were haughty and self-righteous, it was no wonder He was taken aback by the humility and faith that this powerful Roman showed.

Lord, I pray that you will find in me humility and faith as well.  That Jesus would find me worthy instead of me trying to prove that I am, is the utmost goal of my life.  Lord, You are the only one who is WORTHY.  Help me to live my life humbly honoring You.  I am grateful for Your loving kindness.  Thank You for welcoming me into Your Kingdom in spite of my sinfulness. 

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

