Wednesday May 31, 2017 Visitation

Mary set out and traveled in a hurry to the hill country, to a city of Judah, and entered the house of Zacharias and greeted Elizabeth.  When Elizabeth heard Mary’s greeting, the baby leaped in her womb; and Elizabeth was filled with the Holy Spirit.  She cried out with a loud voice and said, “Blessed are you among women, and blessed is the fruit of your womb! Luke 1:39-41

A visitation is much different from a VISIT!  I might stop into see a friend or family member, but a visitation is an encounter that has significance.  Elizabeth KNEW when she heard Mary’s voice that the world was changed.  Mary was now the Mother of God who came to see her and that changed everything.  These babies in the womb communicated and Elizabeth felt and experienced the Holy Spirit who prompted her to greet Mary, her cousin, as she did.

There have been momentous visits in my life.  When I learned my daughter was pregnant was one.  When I went to be with my mom when she had brain surgery was another.  When I flew to Florida to be married, life changed and was never the same.

There are moments when God is a part of this life in a real and tangible way.  His Holy breath can be felt on my shoulder and His soothing arms can be felt around me.  He visits each of His children and supports in different ways when decisions must be made.  There are many notable cases where a mother picked up a car to free a child who was pinned beneath.  There are moments of clarity amidst confusion when the right path seems illuminated.  God visits His people and whenever that happens it is always a Visitation; momentous and life changing!

Clarity and vision have marked these moments for me.  Like Elizabeth, I have seen with the eyes of the spirit that my life would be changed forever.  Elizabeth knew in her heart of hearts that Mary was blessed and that her own life was changed.

Lord, help me to always be attentive to hear Your voice and see how You are manifesting in my life.  Your visitations… make everything new.   

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

