Sunday May 7, 2017 Gate

So, Jesus said again, “Amen, amen, I say to you, I am the gate for the sheep. All who came [before me] are thieves and robbers, but the sheep did not listen to them. I am the gate. Whoever enters through me will be saved, and will come in and go out and find pasture.  John 10:7-9

I always kind of quietly passed over this image on Good Shepherd Sunday each year.  Why would Jesus say He was the GATE?  I can understand that He is the “Good Shepherd” because He leads His own with love, He rescues the one who wanders from the ninety-nine.  But what does being a gate have to do with it???  Then I learned how the sheepfolds worked in Galilee.  They were spaces naturally enclosed by mountains or rocks that were then finished with rocks or fence of some kind except for a point of entrance which was left open.  The Shepherd then would sleep in front of the space becoming a human gate to keep his sheep in the pen and unwanted predators out.  So, when Jesus says, “I am the gate…” He meant it literally not figuratively.

There is much in life that threatens.  Jesus says He will protect me from the thief and the robber.  He will guard me from Satan who longs to steal me soul.  These days are no different from the time when Jesus walked the earth in terms of temptations.  He knows Satan offers power and greed, pleasure seeking and selfishness.  These will always be the lures that Satan uses to draw weak-willed people away.  God sent His only Son to stop him from taking what God had always wanted… His children to live with Him in paradise.

As I think now about gates, I realize that they serve as protection from evil outsiders who steal and to keep me safe from myself.  Too often, curiosity or unconscious wandering would get me outside the safe confines of God’s love.  With Jesus as the gate, He protected me from myself and brought me back safely to His arms if I did get past the confines of His love.

Lord, I am so grateful for Your leadership and steadfast service as the GATE!  Thank You for being loud and clear so that I recognize Your voice.  When I hear Your call, and know it is You, I follow willingly and seek to be with You forever.  Help me to cling to Your way and allow You to always be MY Good Shepherd. 

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

