Monday May 1, 2017 Sent

“My lord,” Gideon said to him, “if the Lord is with us, why has all this happened to us? Where are his wondrous deeds about which our ancestors told us when they said, ‘Did not the Lord bring us up from Egypt?’ For now, the Lord has abandoned us and has delivered us into the power of Midian.”  The Lord turned to him and said: Go with the strength you have, and save Israel from the power of Midian. Is it not I who send you?  Judges 6:13-14

I love the story of Gideon.  He doubted the angel that God sent to him and really mouthed off… he is quite lucky that God’s patience stood up to the testiness that Gideon exhibited.  It was a long seven years living under the Midianites rule.  Hunger and deprivation plagued his people, so Gideon felt justified in challenging the situation.  The angel said, “Go with the strength you have!”

There are many times that I question God for sending me into situations that I do not feel prepared to handle.  Like Gideon I say “BUT LORD” I am weak, and the least suited to the task.  Funny how God often picks the weak and ill-prepared to do His work.  When that happens, God is glorified because you and I know that the victory is won by HIM alone.

When a situation arises that requires more than I KNOW I can do alone, I too ask God if He is sending me.  Then I pray for an answer and the wisdom to discern if He is sending me or if my ego is putting grandiose ideas in my head.  Prayerful trust in His answer to my question often has me standing in awe as Gideon did when the Lord paves the way by opening doors that seemed not just closed but locked and barred.  Gideon challenged God numerous times asking for signs to clarify things.  God was so patient through all these tests…  I know that I would never tempt the Lord like this or would I?

“If today you hear God’s voice, harden not your heart!” seems to be my daily prayer.  Lord open my eyes, my ears and my mind to do Your will.  Help me to not question when You are sending me a task but instead accept Your will for my life. 

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

