Thursday April 27, 2017 Think

Whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is just, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is gracious, if there is any excellence and if there is anything worthy of praise, think about these things. Philippians 4:8

I have dealt with depression for a long time.  Since my teens, I have taken medication and dealt with the overwhelming condition of hopelessness, sadness and an inability to deal with the common stresses of life.  I have been blessed with my faith and through it I have learned the best way to overcome the anxiety is to think about God and all He has given to me.  I learned that it is impossible to be sad, angry or anxious when I am feeling grateful.

God has provided me with so much love and opportunity that when I think about it, I cannot allow the depression to hold me hostage.  I have learned that depression is an illness that must be treated but I can do so much to push the symptoms away by exercise, prayer, and writing.  When I think about the gifts of a sunrise or dwell on the beautiful faces of my grandchildren, I am lifted past the limiting feelings and brought to a new joy!

When I am suffering in the pit of despair, I ask myself what is true…  Am I really a failure?  Do I really have no one who loves me?  Is my life really not worthy to continue?  I can honestly say NO and this helps me to grasp the truth and cling to God’s love.

Today is my 66th birthday and I have made strides for 50 years despite depression toward a life of praising God and giving testimony of His gracious love.  There is no one who can be grateful and sad at the same time.  I embrace gratitude and think of all the ways God gives me a reason to keep on growing and going each day.

Lord Help me to always think good thoughts and gratefully acknowledge Your presence in my life.  With You my life has meaning and direction.  Thank You for loving me all the days of my life. 

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

