Wednesday April 26, 2017 John 3:16

God so loved the world that He gave His only-begotten Son, so that everyone who believes in Him might not perish but might have eternal life.  John 3:16

This is the most well-known verse in the bible.  You see references to it everywhere: on T-shirts and bumper stickers, on the foreheads of sports figures and even written in the sky on a cloudless day by skywriters.  With the Passion, Death and Resurrection so fresh in my mind, it is important to realize why God allowed his only-begotten to come here and die.  It is all about love and what love really means.

Love means self-giving and God gave His very self to set me free.  There is nothing that shows love more than sacrifice.  Parents, sacrifice their time, their sleep, their health to make the lives of their children better.  Lovers will give up their most treasured possessions for their beloved.  Servicemen and women give their lives for love of country and the freedoms that it represents.  When I picture God sending Jesus to earth to fulfill this mission of love, I see His eyes filled with tears and His heart breaking.  That is what love brings us to do even though it hurts.

God so Loved… and He asks me to do the same.  To stretch out my hand even though it may be swatted or cut off.  He asks me to bear the burdens of others and be present to them even when I am exhausted.  He asks me to touch the leper and accept the beggar into my home so that I might not perish but instead have eternal life.  God asks me to LOVE as He loved.

Lord, help me to love even when I am tired.  Help me to open myself to those who are suffering and be present to those who are lonely and isolated.  Give me the grace to be Your hands and the spirit to be Your ear to those who need to be heard today.  Help me SO love each person You bring into my world today.   

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

