Tuesday April 25, 2017 IF

Let us not become weary in doing good, for at the proper time we will reap a harvest if we do not give up.  Galatians 6:9

IF is a small word with lots of meaning.  As a child, IF promised rewards when my behavior was up to my mother’s standards.  IF continued to be a carrot at work when sales would reach a certain level, bonuses would be distributed.  IF is a tiny word but has great importance in most every life.  God cannot do anything contrary to His nature so whatever my actions, He will allow me to reap what I have sown.  Planting generosity I will reap plenty.  Sowing patience, I will reap understanding of my own shortcomings.  By doing good, I will harvest eternal life with Him.

Though life seems long, it is just a moment in eternity.  The biggest unpleasantness here can seem interminable but in the perspective of heaven, it is just a blink.  As I grow older, I know when I look back how quickly time has flown by.  God then asks me to trust Him that the painful sadness or the bodily tortures that I endure will not be more than I can bear.  He promises that I will reap JOY IF I do not give up.  Doing GOOD when I am struggling myself, is hard but not impossible.  In our society, constant comparisons weigh upon me.  The important thing for me to remember is that You will only judge me by what YOU know is in my heart and within my own capacity.  That is a blessing, indeed.

Dear Father, You are able to do immeasurably more than I can ask or imagine!  Ephesians 3:20 Help me to believe even IF I cannot see past this moment that heaven is real and promised to me IF I do good, I will reap salvation. 

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

