Tuesday April 18, 2017 my Name

Jesus said to her, “Mary!” She turned and said to him in Hebrew, “Rabbouni,” which means Teacher. John 20:16

Mary Magdalene only recognized Jesus in the garden when He said her name.  She was immediately aware then who was speaking with her.  She was so distraught at finding the stone rolled away and the tomb empty that she could not recognize her beloved teacher and her Lord.  How often do I meet Jesus throughout the day and never recognize Him?  How often do I see God and totally miss Him?

I am afraid it happens pretty often!  The beggar on the street who I look past, the person I don’t look at in the elevator, the person even sitting next to me at church who I do not greet because I am too self-absorbed.  If these people who I did not recognize would say my name, I would know they are special.

Have you ever run into someone who knew you and called you by name whom you did not recognize?  It is a very disconcerting feeling.  It happens to me quite often and it humbles me every time.  Sometimes, it occurs because they recognize me from Social Media or because of one of the organizations I lead or volunteer for.  Once, it was a childhood friend who recognized me but I could not for the life of me, place her.  It is embarrassing!!!  When it happens in reverse, it is hurtful.  I feel smaller when another does not know me or acknowledge me.

Mary must have felt so confused, elated and undoubtedly afraid.  But she rose to the occasion, and went, as Jesus told her, to tell the disciples that SHE had seen the Lord.  And the rest as they say, is history.

Lord, thank You for patiently calling my name.  I want to recognize You and do Your will in my life.  Help me to see You and to act promptly when I hear You call me!  Mary knew You, the second that You spoke her name.  Help me be that aware! 

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

