Monday April 10, 2017 Perseverance

Let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us.  Hebrew 12:1

Yesterday was Palm Sunday.  It was also the Half Iron Man competition in Haines City.  70.3 miles that participants swim 1.2 miles, bike 56 miles and run 13.1 that goes right past on street.  In my prayerful state hearing the Passion read in church and then seeing these amazing athletes persevering to run the race, I am reminded of what Jesus three years in ministry was a long grueling journey.  He began in the water being Baptized by John.  Then he traveled the hills of Galilee with His disciples and finally He alone went the final distance on the via dolorosa where He would claim the victor’s crown of thorns.

The race track was well marked here in Haines City as it was for Jesus.  He knew where He was headed as did all the athletes yesterday.  The perseverance required to complete any challenge is best understood before undertaking the race.  These folks would be quite upset to learn half way through the distance was now 88 miles on the bike or a full marathon for the run.  No training would allow for a great finish under those circumstances.  Jesus even asked for a reprieve even though going in He knew the final leg of the race would be grueling.

God knows the race that I have signed up to compete in.  When I trust Him, and follow His lead, I can persevere to complete the course.  It is when I go off the path that I get into trouble adding miles that were not designed for me.  Jesus has marked my way, He acts as guide and shepherds me to the finish line.

Lord help me to stay the course.  Give me the strength and the focus to stay on the right path.  With Your grace, I can persevere.    

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

