Friday April 7, 2017 Works

“ If I do not perform my Father’s works, do not believe me; but if I perform them, even if you do not believe me, believe the works, so that you may realize [and understand] that the Father is in me and I am in the Father.” John 10:37-38

Holy Week begins today for me.  The youth of our parish perform the Living Stations on this the Friday before Palm Sunday and it is a beautiful way to begin Holy Week.  For eleven years since our parish was born teenagers spend much of their time preparing with practices to put on this re-enactment of Jesus final 24 hours.  It is a very visual reminder that it takes works and not just faith to win the battle n this earthly plain.

There is madness in our world today.  It is crucial that Christians continue to do what Jesus taught.  Prayer and faith are great things but as Jesus said, believe the works and understand that the Father is in them… When a person acts, things change: skyscrapers get built, roads become a reality, houses rise out of the ground. When people serve, lives improve.  I once attended a retreat and the priest said, you can tell where a person’s values lie by looking at their checkbook register, their calendar and their closet.   I realize that this is so true.  Where I spend my money, my time and how I dress to do it reveal so very much about me.  I know many women who work very hard in their Jimmy Choo heels but it may be their priorities are not on serving the poor.

Jesus works were plain to see even for the Pharisees. They had no quarrel with His actions, they just could not handle His words… calling Himself the Son of God. But the truth will always win out!  As Holy Week proves each year, the Resurrection comes and Jesus is God, the Son. The truth sets me free.

Lord help me to work to bring Your Kingdom alive here on earth where You suffered, died and were buried. You are Risen and that gives me hope.  Let me share that hope through my simple works of kindness.     

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

