Tuesday April 4, 2017 Presents

Give, and it will be given to you.  A good measure pressed down, shaken together, running over, will be put into your lap; for the measure you give will be the measure you get back.  Luke 6:38

During the week with my grandsons, the middle one, Sam, age 9, opted to spend the day with me rather than go with his mom and brothers to a beach.  We spent a fun day at the pool and playing Farkle.  I asked him about his friends at school because I knew he had recently had a sleep over at his house with a young man.  He shared with me that the weekend before it had been his friend’s birthday party.  His friend had invited 10 boys to his party and when they arrived the parents had taken two vans to a homeless shelter where they had the party and gave his presents to the children there.  I discussed this at length with Sam and finally asked if he would ever do anything like that.  He shook his head and said he was not sure he could.  At 9, and being the MIDDLE child, I could understand his inability to commit to such unselfishness.

Loving unselfishly is a learned activity.  Some people much older than Sam, never master it.  It is hard to believe that the cup will be running over when you give it away, and only when you do.

God help me to trust You completely.  Help me to pour myself out knowing that You will refill me even fuller.  Help me to understand that Your generosity exceeds my imagination and capacity to give. 

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

