Monday April 3, 2017 Named

Now says the Lord-the one who created you, Jacob, the one who formed you, Israel: Don’t fear, for I have redeemed you; I have called you by name; you are mine.  Isaiah 43:1

After two weeks of vacation, a first in over twenty years, I am feeling so blessed to have been able to unplug from my life and spend quality time with my husband, daughter and grandchildren.  There were many times when I would need to go through the roster of the grand boys’ names to get to the correct one.  I was reminded of my own mother who would rattle of 5 or 6 of her 9 children’s names before she would get to the one she wanted to address.  I wondered at this because I used to be perturbed at my own mom thinking she did not know her own children.  Now I know that was never the issue.  I know each boy, their characteristics and facial expressions like I know myself.  I am sure there is probably a long Latin name for this phenomenon of misplacing the ability to say the right name but I am sure it won’t change how frustrated I feel when it happens to know the right terminology.

What is amazing is the God knows each of us by name… not only those living now but all those who have preceded us.  How special it makes me feel to be beloved and called by name.  Despite my shortcomings, I am recognizable and hold a place in HIS heart.  What a gift!   As I struggle to reenter my hectic life today, I lean heavily on His help to provide me with the ability to think about more than the fun of winning a dice game or which delicious dessert to have with dinner.  Unplugging is good but rejoining the race requires a lot of focus and determination.

Lord, please guide me back to function and provide me with the ability to focus on what You would have me prioritize for Your honor and glory!  I am Your humble servant and long to hear You call my name. 

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

