Friday March 17, 2017 Grounded

The priests who carried the ark of the covenant of the Lord stood firm on dry ground in the middle of the Jordan.  Joshua 3:17

Water frightened the ancient Israelites and the people of their time.  The people had watched the waves and wind destroy many a ship and wash away the ge homes of those who lived on the shore.  So, on the occasions when they were brought to the edge of the Red Sea and the Jordan and told to cross on foot, I can imagine the fright.  Those who were carrying the heavy Ark of the Covenant had to question their choice of roles.  What a mighty witness of faith for them to stand in the middle of the mighty river on firm ground.

We use the expression of standing on solid ground often meaning that our case is solid.  I believe that this verse particularly illustrates that these people were faith filled and ready to be considered true followers of their God.  I ask myself often where do I stand on issues.  Do I have a solid footing?  Is my faith what it should be?  Am I being deceived by a lovely story or a pretty face?  Is God at the core and is He the solid base so that I will not fall?

There are so many ways to be deceived today.  Identity theft is rampant and people stand ready to impersonate you and steal your name, your social security number, your birthday.  That is really an unsteady feeling!  It is impossible to be grounded when everything you know comes under question.  Proving you are who you say you are is not a fun experience.

Lord, Help me to always walk in Your grace so that I may remain grounded and firm in my faith.  I want to always feel the safety and confidence to live in the shadow of Your wings. 

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

