Thursday March 16, 2017 ANY

If one of your kinsmen in any community is in need in the land which the Lord, your God, is giving you, you shall not harden your heart nor close your hand to him in his need.  Deuteronomy 15:7

When I read this verse this morning, the word that stood out was ANY.  It is never easy to be generous, but palatable for family and friends but ANY one is quite another matter.  God wants me to be open handed and open hearted to basically anyone in need.  WHEW, that is a lot of folks.  How can I possibly take care of everyone?  The best I can hope to serve are those that God puts in my path.

I think that God asks me to bloom where I am planted.  To open my arms, my mind, my eyes and really be aware of those around me.  Gary and I lived in our home a year before we realized that we had two avocado trees in our backyard.  I am sure the guys who took care of our yard enjoyed the fruit.  We just never explored the back of the property until another tree needed to come down.  If I was not looking, I did not see.

I have really been taught many lessons about my ability to make a difference.  It really does not take much to make a difference.  Most of the time, when money is not plentiful, I have been able to open my hand and serve by volunteering.  If I want to help, it takes opening my mind first and then a way to serve becomes evident.

Lord, I am grateful indeed for all that You have given to me.  I know that nothing I have is mine to keep, it is to be shared.  Help me to see all the kinsmen with whom I am supposed to love. 

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

