Wednesday March 15, 2017 Fate

You belong to God, children, and you have conquered them, for the one who is in you is greater than the one who is in the world.  They belong to the world; accordingly, their teaching belongs to the world, and the world listens to them. 1 John 4:4-5

The church teaches there is no such thing as FATE or predetermination!  God gives me free will and therefore my life is not an exercise in futility.  Today is the IDES of March.  Famous for the betrayal of Julius Caesar, made even more ominous by William Shakespeare’s words “Beware the ides of March!”    God does not create what will happen to us.  He knows and sees all but it is up to me to choose life each day!

It is so much nicer to believe that things are out of my hands.  I don’t have to assume any responsibility then.  I can just go along bemoaning the facts of life if I believe I am just a puppet in a play being directed by someone behind the curtain, my frustrations are then legitimate.  My complaints are justified.  It is never easy to admit that my choices brought me to a bad place.  I like to shout from the rooftops when I succeed but not so much when I fail.

I understand that I belong to God and that He has paved the path for me.  I want desperately to choose His way but so often I do not.  The world dangles such lovely carrots in front of my nose… tempting me with power, greed, and pleasures that are so hard to resist.  It is always MY choice but that does not make them any easier to resist.  The one who is in the world is very clever!  He knows me well.

Lord, help me resist the devil and his shiny objects.  I know that You hold the way and the truth!  You never force me to love You.  It is my choice every moment of every day to be Your child.  Give me the courage to face the temptations and choose You! 

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

