Monday March 13, 2017 Measure

Give and gifts will be given to you; a good measure, packed together, shaken down, and overflowing, will be poured into your lap.  For the measure with which you measure will in return be measured out to you.  Luke 6:37-38

I have mentioned often the wisdom of my mother in my scriptural reflections and these verses triggered some great memories.  Raising nine children, she had to have the wisdom of Solomon daily!  I remember her allowing us to cut up the dessert whether it was pie or cake.  The trick was that whoever cut would choose their piece last.  The precision then in making each piece equal was indeed remarkable. A scale would not have been any more accurate.

I am so lucky that God is not like my brothers or sisters were in being fair.  He doles out His gifts to me in overflowing abundance and invites me to do the same. Generosity inspires more generosity!  When I lavish my husband with time and attention, he gives me the same.  When I give to charity, the Lord is never outdone and He returns my gift to me tenfold.  It is amazing and heartwarming to see this occur every single time.  The tricky part is God knows when my gifts are passed out in a stingy or grumbling manner.   The measure with which I measure is always measured out to me.  No joy in giving then reaps NO Joy in receiving!

I wish I could tell you that I am always a cheerful giver.  I wish I could share that I did not measure those pieces of pie with the exactitude of a surgeon.   I am a work in progress and glad to report that God is not finished with me yet.  I pray that I will someday be able to pour out myself with the abandon described here.  Indeed, I pray daily hat I will be worthy of measurement on the last day.

Lord, I am so grateful for our generous love into my life.  Help me to turn around and fill others with the bounty that has been shared with me.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

