Thursday March 9, 2017 Unto

“Do unto others whatever you would have them do to you.  This is the law and the prophets.” Matthew 7:12

The Golden Rule as it is called, is a wonderful source of direction in my life.  It becomes sticky however when I am unsure of their desired outcomes because obviously, I will perform what it is I would like done unto me.  I have found myself in this place as well.  Fairness is easy, Generosity too is something everyone wants and of course LOVE.  The universal desires are simple but not easy to give.  When I am tired or focused on something I need to get done, my willingness or ability to do unto others becomes quite lacking.

Clarity is not easy to achieve.  I love shopping for Christmas presents for people who give me a list.  When I have direction, I am laser targeted and can accomplish my tasks.  I can be like Grant through Richmond, attaining my goal.  But when I am left to serve them using my own desires, it takes me forever and I am never satisfied.

The Platinum Rule is “Do unto others as they would have you do unto them”.  Here clarity lies with the person who you are serving.  When they communicate clearly what it is they need or want, it is up to me to decide if I will DO…  if they don’t know what they want done or more to the point why… there is no helping them then.  Being a servant lies in my heart and soul… willingness to do for others, whether I choose to live the golden or platinum rule is what Jesus has demonstrated by His life and what He asks of me each day.

Lord help me to always prioritize the needs and wants of others.  Let me be Your servant, your hands and feet on this earth to minister to those who You have placed before me today. 

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

