Thursday March 2, 2017 Whichever

If you choose you can keep the commandments; it is loyalty to do His will.  There are set before you fire and water; to whichever you choose stretch out your hand.  Before man are life and death, whichever he chooses shall be given to him.  Choose life!  Sirach 15:15-17

Daily I am bombarded with options.  Hundreds of options at the grocery store and that is just the bread aisle.  Nothing is easy!  Which headache remedy to buy, which car to drive and what restaurant to have dinner… the choices are endless.  In today’s verse I am given just two things to pick from and the options are clearly defined.  Life or death!

When I was young, I had read about the lines in Russia to get food.  It was hard for me to understand that people would wait to get whatever was available when the choices here were so many.  Then I volunteered at a food pantry right here and saw the people waiting for a box filled with staples but they had no choices.  They were grateful for whatever they were given.  How important then is being able to make a choice?  Too often, I take for granted the abundance in my life.  I quickly forget that it is a privilege to have the right to decide.

God, You ask me to make a choice each day to follow YOU!  I want to live my life so that it is clear to You that I have chosen correctly.  Today, help me to see my options for the potential to serve and honor You.  Give me the grace I need to always choose life. 

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

