Monday February 20, 2017 Rid

 Therefore, since we are surrounded by so great a cloud of witnesses, let us rid ourselves of every burden and sin that clings to us and persevere in running the race that lies before us while keeping our eyes fixed on Jesus, the leader and perfecter of faith.   Hebrews 12:1-2

There are many books written today about simplifying and getting rid of all the extra “Stuff” in life.  From the place for everything and everything in its place theory to the only own what you love theory, all kinds of dictum exist.  It is crucial to embrace God’s direction though to achieve true peace.  Toss the burdens and sin so that I can get to Him.  Carrying excess baggage does slow me down and makes getting to the finish line nearly impossible.  I can’t imagine my daughter running her marathons with a back pack full of books.  The road and the distance are enough of a challenge, why would she make it even harder?

St Paul encourages his friends and himself to keep eyes on the prize, Jesus.  Focus on any of the other distractions and sin will not only bog me down but lead me off the path entirely.

I love the description of Jesus as the LEADER and Perfecter of FAITH.  Should I ever wonder who or what I am called to be, I have a perfect example to follow.  I know that sin clings to me like a polyester blouse fresh out of the dryer.  It is determined to stay plastered on my body.  Only Jesus can help me be rid of that sin so I can persevere.

Lord, I am grateful indeed for Your love and sacrifice to free me from all that burdens me and holds me back.  Help me lay aside what prevents me from being fully present to You!  Allow me to finish the race, all the while keeping my eyes fixed on You!   

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

