Saturday February 18, 2017 But

A man said, “I will follow you, Lord, but first let me say farewell to my family at home.” Jesus said, “No one who sets a hand to the plow and looks to what was left behind is fit for the kingdom of God.” Luke 9:61-62

But is a dangerous word.  It is like a POOP sandwich.  The outside is great stuff, nice bread that looks appetizing and delicious.  Inside however, is filled with bad news:

I love you, BUT, I can’t marry you.  It’s not you it’s me. 

The dinner was delicious BUT the turkey was too dry.  The pies were great. 

Nice job on that new account, BUT your margins could be better.  Super volume though. 

Everyone has heard BUT.  Jesus told this man and He tells me too, there is no halfway.  He wants my commitment with no equivocation.  No reservations or holding back.  He understands life and all its demands.  He was born into a family and had responsibilities at home.  He loved His own mother with all His heart.  He could easily relate to the man.  He simply was warning him that it is very easy to lose the right way in the demands of this life.  Priorities must be set and strictly adhered to… God’s kingdom comes first.

Nothing in this passage indicates that Jesus softened his stance.  For many this is a very hard lesson.  Choosing God is demanding on the best day but God promises us that His Yoke will be easy and His burden light.  Seems like a confusing and divergent way of thinking.  God is an AND not a BUT.  He delivers on His promises in the most unique way.  It does not have to be either/or with Him.  There are no rules that cannot be broken because He made the rules.  Trusting in the truth will set me free.

Lord help me to never hold back in my love and commitment to You.  Erase the BUTS in my life and give me the AND attitude.You are the Way, the Truth and the Light!

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

