Thursday February 16, 2017 Taming

For every kind of beast and bird, of reptile and sea creature, can be tamed and has been tamed by the human species, but no human being can tame the tongue. It is a restless evil, full of deadly poison.  James 3:7-8

James letter is filled with all kinds of practical wisdom.  He is said to have written the Proverbs for the New Testament.  I am humbled each time I read what he has to say.  Here he reminds me that I seem to be able to handle training everything from monkeys to birds but keeping my own tongue in check is seemingly impossible. I work hard to be patient and kind, but give me two cups of coffee and a few cookies instead of a real dinner and I am out of control.  Facing my recollection of how I acted at a meeting last night makes me cringe.   Life as we know it does not stop because I am rude or like someone on Speed but being in my wake when I am over tired can cause everyone to be wet!

Why is one of the smallest organs in the body so deadly?  James explains that The tongue is a fire, a world of iniquity. James 3: 6 A single match can destroy a whole forest so that tiny power is as deadly as my tongue.  How can I hope to control it?  Matthew says “Out of the abundance of the heart, the mouth speaks.” Matt 12:34 Truth is the only way is to keep my heart full and focused on the God who saves!  It will then be filled with the Holy Spirit who always produces love.  Gratitude and calm will help to tame even the unruliest tongue.  James reminds me that out of the same place comes blessings and curses… my job then is to always  focus on and speak the blessings.

Lord help me to tame the unruly evil that lives in my mouth.  Help me keep my heart full and faithfully devoted to serving You.  Turn the poison into sweet honey that draws others to You instead of pushing them away. 

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

