Sunday February 12, 2017 Wisdom

Yet we do speak a wisdom to those who are mature, but not a wisdom of this age, nor of the rulers of this age who are passing away.  1 Corinthians 2:6

So many are frustrated by those who are leading our country, our state our city and even our churches.  The funny thing is that God has told us that no one here has the wisdom that is needed to do the job.  Broken and sinful people are all that populate the earth.  No matter how good our leaders try to be their own humanity gets in the way.  The rulers of this age are passing away just like those in power while Jesus walked the earth.  Only God’s wisdom lasts through space and time.

Later in this passage St Paul repeats what I consider one of the most beautiful promises in the bible.

But as it is written: “What eye has not seen, and ear has not heard,
and what has not entered the human heart, what God has prepared for those who love him,”
     1 Corinthians 2:9

No one living has any idea what lies ahead.  Not the leaders, not the scientists, not the doctors, not even the priests.  Only God knows my future!  This passage is a promise that I can cling to when the going gets tough.  Wisdom is a deep and abiding understanding of the truth.  Each of us seeks the truth in life.  To know the way is a driving force that motivates people to dig deep into books, life experiences with the hope of answers that will help make sense of all that is happening.  The revelation of WHY only happens with God’s Wisdom.  So, I choose to act boldly for what I believe in.  I keep on searching for truth and embracing the wisdom that I find along the way.  BUT I never presume that I will ever have all the answers here.

Lord, help me to never tire in my search for WISDOM.  You lead me along the path of life and when I follow closely, I grow in wisdom and in light.  Give me patience during the times when I feel lost. 

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

