Saturday February 11, 2017 Heart

A merry heart does good like medicine.  Proverbs 17:22

A peaceful heart leads to a healthy body.  Proverbs 14:30

Grant me purity of heart, so that I may honor you.  Psalm 86:11

As I was dressing this morning, I picked up a heart necklace to wear today and thought how important having a reminder like Valentine’s Day is to keep me focused on how important it is to enjoy life and all it has in store for each of us.  Then I was literally bombarded by these verses in three different sources during my reflection time.  I treasure how good God is to speak to my heart and confirm how much He wants me to get the message.

Today is my stepdad’s birthday.  He would have been 105 years old.  These verses really reminded me of him  He loved to laugh, his merry heart caused him to belly laugh and always had a big smile.  His demeanor in sales and with friends always put others at ease.  Peace would come when he was leading the Elks meeting or closing deal.  Anyone who knew him, would share that he was pure of heart.  To marry a woman with 5 children… you don’t get more pure or good than that.

If these verses were placed under a picture of dad, all would have agreed… yes, that is the way to live a life filled with heart.

Lord, give me the patience and love to be all these things to those in my life.  Merry, peaceful and pure, for in these the essence of life exists.   

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

