Thursday February 2017 Kindness

For this very reason, make every effort to add to your faith with virtue, virtue with knowledge, knowledge with self-control, self-control with endurance, endurance with devotion, devotion with kindness, kindness with love. 2 Peter 1:5-7

In this litany of qualities that any Christian would love to claim as their own, Faith is the beginning culminating in LOVE!  How wonderful that as I add to faith I will eventually arrive at LOVE which is where Jesus is calling me to be.  The virtue closest to the epitome (LOVE) is Kindness or in some translations: mutual affection.  I can see how these two are interchangeable.  It is impossible to be kind unless you have affection for someone.  It is so much easier if that affection is mutual.  ☺  Who would not be kind to someone with whom affection was shared?

I think it is really hard to be consistently KIND to those with whom I am close!  They too often see my worst side!  Impatience, frustration and shortness hardly ever show themselves around strangers or acquaintances but family sees me at my worst all too often.  I am pretty sure I am not alone in this phenomenon!  No matter how hard I try, the minute I shut the garage door, I shed the smile that I have plastered on my face all day and the stresses and the strains all too often show their ugly heads in my demeanor.

God knew that I would need help to find my mutual affection and blessed me with these words.

Lord, I pray for the strength to be KIND!  When the dishes are piled high in the sink when I get home, or the computer freezes one more time, or the dog needs to go for a walk when I don’t think I can take another step… I am asking for the kindness that will allow me to smile rather than lash out!  To bless those who I do love instead of selfishly ranting! 

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

