Saturday February 4, 2017 Leaders

Obey your leaders and defer to them, for they keep watch over you and will have to give an account, that they may fulfill their task with joy and not with sorrow, for that would be of no advantage to you.  Hebrews 13:17

No matter who you did or did not vote for in our election, our leaders have been chosen.  Hard as it may be to defer to someone that you do not like or respect, it is important to believe that God is in His heaven and He knows what is happening down here on earth.  Leaders come and go, from a boss at work to a pastor at your church; from the mayor of a small municipality to the President of the US, they will have only a specific amount of time to serve and then they will move on.  They will give an account for the job that they did and it is not my job to judge….  Thank goodness.

I believe it is my job to be informed and involved, so I write letters to my Councilman, Congressman or even the President.  I vote and serve on Jury Duty and obey most of the laws (I do speed on occasion).  But I would not want to be in the spot of the Leader of the free world.  To make decisions that can affect the lives of so many and to be held accountable for those decisions… YIKES!

Praying for my leaders is an important part of my day.  Even when I did not vote for them, it is my job to support and defer to them in whatever I can and for me, PRAYER is the best gift I can give.  When you look at pictures of our presidents before they are elected and after… the stress has made physical changes that will be forever indelibly chiseled into their bodies.  No one can ever doubt the terrible toll that they pay to serve me.  They need my prayers!

Lord help leaders to be stalwart and true to the job that they have sought and that You are measuring.  Help each to make good decisions and follow the path to righteousness.  Help each one to give a good accounting for their service whether their approval rating is high or low, Your APPROVAL is all that really matters in the end. 

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

