Thursday February 2, 2017 Thanks

Give thanks to the Lord, invoke his name;  make known among the peoples his deeds.  Sing praise, play music; proclaim all his wondrous deeds.  Glory in his holy name; rejoice, O hearts that seek the Lord! 1 Chronicles 16:8-10

Much medical research has revealed that if Thankfulness were a drug, it would be the world’s bestselling product because of the health benefits for every organ system.  Bottling gratitude would be a miracle for many but isn’t it sad that so few take advantage of this remedy for all that ails them?   David wrote these words to commemorate the return of the Ark of the Covenant to Jerusalem.  He expressed his gratitude and praised God for His wonderful intercession and power.  He was also thankful for the safe delivery because the Ark was awesome and in some cases deadly.  David’s song went on to rejoice in God’s greatness, God’s salvation, His creative power and His mercy.  David just could not stop his outpouring of thanks…

I have so many things to be grateful for that I could also praise God from morning til night, NONSTOP!  Why then do I so often find myself, grumbling about tiny inconveniences, little discomforts or people who happened to push my buttons.  All that does is give me indigestion, a headache or worse yet, a rude or angry disposition.  David gave a great example of how to focus on being so full of gratitude that it spills out in song.  The Psalms are so much about praise and thanksgiving that if I read them regularly, I can’t help but feel lifted up.

I have found that true peace comes when I acknowledge the GIVER instead of the gifts.  When I focus on the good things in my life, I may benefit my body but when I direct my thanks to God, the creator of these gifts, then I benefit my soul.

Lord, Help me always to be grateful.  For the moments of confusion when I lose sight of what is most important, give me the ability to focus on You and all You are!  The Alpha and the Omega.  I need to get outside myself and the little stuff that moves my mind and my heart away from You.  I am eternally thankful to You!   

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

