Wednesday February 1, 2017 Discipline

“My son, do not disdain the discipline of the Lord or lose heart when reproved by Him; for whom the Lord loves, He disciplines; He scourges every son He acknowledges.” Endure your trials as “discipline”; God treats you as sons. For what “son” is there whom his father does not discipline?  Hebrews 12: 5-7

I am sure you remember back to when you were a child and your mom or dad read you the riot act for misbehaving.  My mom cried once when she paddled my sister.  It killed her to discipline her but she was determined to raise “Good” kids and my sister was pretty darned headstrong.  (Mom looked at spanking as a way to educate us in what was not appropriate behavior.)  My sister was great at defiantly saying that she would NOT obey.  When my own children came along, I felt the same way but never hit them… just sending them to their room or grounding them was hard enough.  But I knew in my heart of hearts that without discipline and a true grasp of what was right and what was wrong would mar any child and create havoc in their lives forever.

God is the a much more loving parent than I could ever hope to be.  So the “discipline or education” that comes from Him surely hurts Him as much if not more than it hurts me.  I keep wondering when things are hard what lesson that I should be learning…  I know there must be one!  I have seen so very often that God prepares His children for the next phase in life.  The very best illustration of this that I ever witnessed was many years ago.  My next door neighbor had a beautiful baby girl.  I made her Christening dress and was God-Mother.  My friend was the County Visiting Nurse, and was sent to a two day seminar on Sudden Infant Death Syndrome.  She was home a week when her daughter died of SIDS while at the sitters.  God had prepared her to understand and be a help for all who loved her little girl especially the sitter.  That tragedy was a terrible lesson but one that no one will ever forget.  Life is precious and must be embraced each and every day.  She had two more boys!

Being a disciple means being disciplined and each lesson prepares me to serve someone else.  When I can look at what is happening to me in this way, I can grab the lesson without being angry at God or anyone else for that matter.

Lord I ask Your help to me endure my trials with grace and look always for the lesson that will bring me closer to You.  Thank You for loving me and preparing me for the times when I will suffer.  Help me to always be grateful even when I am tired or hurting.  I know that You never send me more than I can bear. 

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

