Tuesday January 31, 2017 Witnesses

Brothers and sisters, since we are surrounded by so great a cloud of witnesses, let us rid ourselves of every burden and sin that clings to us and persevere in running the race that lies before us  while keeping our eyes fixed on Jesus, the leader and perfecter of faith.  Hebrews 12:1-2

There is a Mission at my church this week and it always thrills me that the church is full on weeknights in January.  I love that there is a great cloud of witnesses who seek out support and nourishment for the long race that is life.  My daughters have both trained and run a marathon.  26.2 miles in any circumstance is a grueling task.  But they trained and built up their stamina for what they knew would take it out of them.   My younger daughter, Denise, has actually run two of these races, on purpose, BY HER CHOICE!  It will never cease to amaze me.

Those who stand on the sidelines and cheer on those who run, are their witnesses.  They applaud and cheer the runners to encourage and offer water, Gatorade, fruit or maybe a granola bar.  Many runners have people sponsor them to raise money for their charity and that creates even more witnesses.  Those who witness can attest to the fact that there are injuries, pulled muscles, heat stroke and all kinds of things that plague the runners.  Just like in life… much can happen to sideline those who want to reach the finish line.  In the case of the faithful… heaven!

We all need encouragers, witnesses who cheer us on the way.  Those who provide us with that nourishment for body and soul so we can complete the race before us.  Today I may be on the sidelines for someone choosing the path of righteousness.  Lord help me to be part of the crowd for someone today.  Please provide for me a witness and aide for me tomorrow as I put on my number and join the race. 

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

