Sunday January 29, 2017 OLD age

The righteous will still bear fruit in old age, they will stay fresh and green, proclaiming, “The Lord is upright; He is my Rock, and there is no wickedness in Him.”  Psalm 92:12, 14-15

I missed her funeral last Saturday because of a prior commitment that I had organized.  I was praying that Marion would be well represented by my fellow parishioners and have since learned the church was full of people who wanted to say good-bye to this wonderful woman.  At 85 years young, she had the youthful smile that could light up any room.  She continued to travel, attend bible studies and bless her friends, family and complete strangers with her presence.  She did indeed bear fruit in her old age.

I know that Marion did proclaim these words and encouraged others to believe by her faithfulness to God, her Savior.   Now that I am in my sixties and realize how young that is, J!  I embrace the encouragement found in scripture verses like this one and in people like Marion who graciously proclaim the Good News even in their 80s and 90s.  The Lord is my ROCK and I will continue to cling to Him and produce fruit until the day I die.  My hope is that will be in 20 or 30 years.  When I think about 30 years, that means that I have a third of my life left to proclaim God!  That gives me hope for a future blessed with new friends in Christ!  That is heaven on earth.

 Lord give me Your strength when I am frail, give me Your voice when mine is weak, give me Your Fruit to share with those I meet so that they may come to love YOU as I do.  I thank you that OLD AGE is nothing to be feared… but just another moment in time to serve YOU!

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

