Saturday January 28, 2017 Delight

The Lord your God will delight in you if you obey His voice and keep the commandments and statutes that are written in this book of the law, and if you return to the Lord, your God, with your whole heart and soul.  Deuteronomy 30:10

I love the word “DELIGHT”.  It is better than glad or happy, it just sounds like the epitome of joy.  It truly captures the imagination and I can visualize God with a huge grin smiling down.  I know from other verses that God loves me in spite of how I act and who I am.  “If God is for us, who can be against us? He who did not spare His own Son, but gave Him up for us all-how will He not also, along with Him, graciously give us all things?” Romans 8:31-32  God loves me in spite of my actions but He delights when I am faithful and generous.

There has always raged a great debate about actions/works vs faith.  I am certainly no theologian but I believe that God does love me always and wants me to join Him in heaven.  The idea of delighting Him however spurs me to do and be more and prompts me into action.  I grew up in a family of nine children.  The idea of pleasing my mom who was a widow struggling to raise us, prompted all my brothers and sisters to rise above.  She provided safety and nourishment, love and faithfulness.  Each of us worked to bring that smile to her face.  One brother was the comedian, one sister cleaned, I cooked, each of us used a skill to ease the burden on her…  I am sure she felt a lot less than delight on most days but a brief respite from constantly having to do for all of us was a gift.  Maybe God feels the same.  When I serve another, He can breathe a milli-second before He is deluged with hundreds of other requests for help and assistance from around the world.  I loved when Jim Carey was God for a bit, in Bruce Almighty.  The requests came in faster than he could even click yes on his computer.  Giving everyone what they wanted made everyone miserable and no one was delighted!

Lord, I know my small gestures can’t change the world but if they bring a smile to Your face, a moment of delight, I am blessed indeed.  Thank You for all the gifts that You have bestowed on me including the opportunity to serve others.  Help me to be ever aware of the laws of service and faithfulness to Your commandments.     

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

